Best Way To Clean Salmon

A forum for people who are new to commercial fishing and for talking about the fundamental rules and regulations.
MattP
Spammer?: No

Best Way To Clean Salmon

Post by MattP »

I recently bought my first troller. I've been a part time resident of the state for the last few years and am planning on making a permanent move this spring. I've participated in winter longline and jig fisheries for other species and guided for salmon in the summers (I know, I know, I'm getting out of it). Anyways, I've never commercially fished for salmon and the fish I got guiding were usually just bled and put on ice. I've read alot on this forum about how guys are trying to maximize the quality of their troll-caught product. I was wondering if anyone knows of a link to or could post a detailed description of how they process their fish on the boat before icing them. I found an old post that had a link to a video from the SPC coop about this but the link was dead. I really want to produce a good product right off the bat. I will be icing or slush icing in totes. Something with pictures would be great and any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
SilverT
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Re: Best Way To Clean Salmon

Post by SilverT »

Matt,

I looked for and couldn't find the link to SPC's video. I have to run and have not watched them entirely, but the Washington Troller's Association web site has a few videos and pics on the subject that you might want to check out. I found SPC's video the most helpful and the processors were very pleased with the results of following their instructions, so it would be nice if we could get it back in circulation. Congratulations on your new venture. A link is posted below.

http://www.washingtontrollers.org/cleaning.htm
Salty
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Post by Salty »

I have a nice sequence of my wife cleaning a silver salmon. I will post it on the pictures section. Does not include flushing of the blood lines.