Opinions on a boat/financing

A forum for people who are new to commercial fishing and for talking about the fundamental rules and regulations.
BillF
Spammer?: No

Opinions on a boat/financing

Post by BillF »

Hi All,
My name is Bill and I live in Juneau. I am 32 years old and have worked as a mechanic most of my life (auto, small aircraft) and I have been working construction for the last four years (self employed but subcontracting mostly). I have also done a short stint as an archaeologist. I have been hankering for a fishing boat for the last few years but havent gotten serious about it until now. I got a job with the ferry and did my first week last week, it was by far the most horrible work experience of my life. I am not a state worker at all. I've decided that Im going to take the plunge and go for a fishing boat and permit. I have my place out the road here paid down to less than 5K and Im thinking about taking out a loan on it for 40-50K. I really like the uniflite with HT permit for 40K that is on craigslist right now, but I think that 6-71 might be a little much for hand trolling. Im wondering what you all think of that boat, as well as my financial scheme. I also wonder if I wouldnt be better off buying a PT permit and cheap boat. My problem with that is that I get sick of maintenance nightmares, after years of maintenance work I really appreciate having something decent. I would love some input on all of this from those in the know.
Thanks,
Bill
Abundance
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Re: Opinions on a boat/financing

Post by Abundance »