Change in career

A forum for people who are new to commercial fishing and for talking about the fundamental rules and regulations.
johnJr

Change in career

Post by johnJr »

I have REALLY enjoyed Jon's posts documenting his boat and professional progress.
I am a high school science teacher in New Mexico who was born in Ketchikan, and attended Bear Valley elementary and Kayhi.
Anyway, I am tired of working for others (especially the incompetent public school officials, though not all of them are bad by any means) and I have been trying to move back and STAY in SE AK for the last 10 years. It seems that I move back and something always happens...family member sick...wife gets homesick for lower-48, etc., etc. I have moved up AND BACK three times in the last 10 years.
I have always wanted to try my hand at trolling because many in SE AK have told me before that trolling is a very family friendly type of business (by that I mean a boat can be operated by husband/wife team, father/son, etc.)
My dilemma is this: I have worked on a seiner before and I have some fishing experience, but I never really thought to ask the captain, "So, how does one get started in commercial fishing?"

So, salmon trolling forum, I now pose that question to YOU...how DOES one get started? Step one is.....?
johnJr

Re: Change in career

Post by johnJr »

oh yes, and I forgot to mention that working a summer or two to learn the ropes would be great too if anyone needs some help this summer...

thanks for your help and advice :D
gumpucky

Post by gumpucky »