Winter King observations

A forum for people who are new to commercial fishing and for talking about the fundamental rules and regulations.
Breadline
Spammer?: No

Winter King observations

Post by Breadline »

I am new to hand trolling and we fished a few days last week to lose fish, lose balls on a reef, and other important activities that new pinheads must work out of our systems. Aside from the expected mishaps, I made some observations that I am wondering if are typical, or just pertained to that first trip, your thoughts would be welcome.
First, it seems that there are more kings closer to the open ocean entrances, we tried several places in Stephens Passage and eastern Fredric sound and did not find to much till we got closer to Chatham Strait.
Second, herring in various setups was the only thing that worked, no spoons, no hoochies, nothing.
Third, we lost a lot of good fish that just got off, it seemed that letting the fish stay on for a few minutes before cranking to work out their energy against the spring may reduce the number of fish that got off?
Fourth, while schools of herring were nearby, we did not seem to catch right near them, we never hooked up while there was a bait ball on the sounder.
Also, are 1/0 treble hooks on 100# mono leaders up to the task? I might have been inclined towards a bigger hook but not sure if it would turn the fish off.
Thanks everyone, I have learned much from browsing this site, and when I someday learn enough to be of use to others, I look forward to sharing the knowledge.
Drew

Re: Winter King observations

Post by Drew »

Treble hooks are notorious for losing fish in general and 1/0 is pretty small.
Salty
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Post by Salty »

1. There has been a better than usual bite in Frederick Sound this October so the fish are there.