advice

A forum for people who are new to commercial fishing and for talking about the fundamental rules and regulations.
Pawpadawg
Spammer?: No

advice

Post by Pawpadawg »

Hello I am new to this. I am 50 a and looking to retire from my county job in 10years. I was born and raised in oregon however am now living in west texas ( dont ask.... LOL). My plan is when I retire from my job to move back to oregon. Get a boat and land.....plan is to supplement my income if needed by fishing.....not looking to do this full time or compete with anyone.....I love the ocean and I love fishing......what I seek is advise on how to achieve my goal......what kind of boat? How big? Gear? Salmon and tuna? Grabbing for personal consumption? Is it expensive? Maintenance?
As I am a mechanic by trade mechanical work be no.problem. any advise?
SteelheadStalker

Re: advice

Post by SteelheadStalker »

I'm putting together a boat to start commercial trolling for salmon on the south coast of Oregon and its a 26ft fiberform cabin cruiser...I have pics posted on my thread 26ft troller help... Everything I have learned so far is from these guys on here, youtube, and the docks in brookings...I've never fished commercially a day in my life...neither has any of my family or anybody I know besides these new fellows I have met since I started this adventure...I'll tell ya its easier on the pocket book and the stress levels if you start out smaller then if it works out, great! move on up to a big boat! Also a trailerable boat lets you jump port to port cheaper than skipper your boat up the coast...everything is expensive no matter what you do and boats are constant maintenance and you know the acronym for boat right? Break Out Another Thousand!!!
Cfood

Post by Cfood »

Recreational BOAT, Commercial boat is spelled BOATT-Break Out Another Ten Thousand
Lulu

Post by Lulu »