UHMW vs HDPE

Troubleshooting, repair, and how-to's related to marine systems.
Jamill45
Spammer?: No

UHMW vs HDPE

Post by Jamill45 »

Hello-

I am looking to replace the outside cap rails and trim on my boat. I have been looking into UHMW and HDPE but can't completely decide which direction to go. Can I get some help with the pros and cons to both? Is one easier to install than the other? Will one stand up to the elements better than the other?

Thanks in advance!

Jake
carojae
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Re: UHMW vs HDPE

Post by carojae »

While I have no experience with hdpe, I have used uhmw for guard rails and found it to be easy to use. I used 1 1/4" x 5.5" boards and had no trouble bending it around the sharp bends of the stern.
Jamill45

Post by Jamill45 »

When bending it was heat needed? Did you use any type of glue along with screwing down to the boat?
Housephone

Post by Housephone »

I intalled uhmw upper & lower guards 6 years ago. Very happy with them. I've bedded mine w Irish felt on my wood boat. No glue or caulk. No heat was used. You can drill, plane, router & shape just like wood. Very easy to work with. I've no experience w HDPE.
Robot
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Post by Robot »

My understanding of UHMW vs. HDPE (correct me if I'm wrong)

UHMW is more of an engineered product. A lot denser and more resistant to photo degradation. (All plastic degrades when exposed to the sun) It would definitely be a better product in a 'high wear' situation (rub rails, anchor guards, etc.)

HDPE, as far as I know, is basically melted down and shaped milk bottles (or something similar). You'll see a lot of this kind of product in the 'trex deck' systems (plastic wood decking with wood fibers and the like). It is a great, low cost, efficient use of recycled plastic, but it definitely has some impurities.