Better deckhose

Discussion related to commercial salmon trolling, boats, gear, fishing techniques, electronics, marketing, etc.
Drew
Spammer?: No

Better deckhose

Post by Drew »

Does anyone have a deckhose that lasts longer than a season or two? I have those electric ones and they don't seem to last too long before burning out. I had been thinking that a belt driven pump might work better but somebody told me that those don't last that long either. What's the best deckhose solution?
paul
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Re: Better deckhose

Post by paul »

I've had good luck with my Jabsco electric clutch pump. I think it's as old as the boat 1983. Iwaki pumps last a long time but they are 110 volt.
JYDPDX

Post by JYDPDX »

I have a Jabsco belt driven pump and am hating, absolutely hating the pathetic water pressure. It's almost serviceable at charging rpm but really weak pressure while trolling. It's the 1 1/4 or 1 1/2. Have others had good luck with these? Maybe I have a blockage restricting the flow. I've heard the impellers fail once a year so I just carry a spare and it was not hard at all to change out.

I went through what seemed like every electric pump on my last boat until I settled on the rule general purpose pump which produced awesome pressure. They only last a couple years but I figured that was good compared to the many others before that produce a small fraction of the pressure and only last a couple months.

If I can't find some kind of blockage in my thru hull or piping, I will be changing back over to the rule pump. But I will still carry a spare on board!

By the way drew. Nice driving of your boat at edgecumbe. You're in good company on my list.
Drew

Post by Drew »

JYDPDX wrote: By the way drew. Nice driving of your boat at edgecumbe. You're in good company on my list.