Hull vs. line voltage

Troubleshooting, repair, and how-to's related to marine systems.
Fishnpohl
Spammer?: No

Hull vs. line voltage

Post by Fishnpohl »

I'm trying to figure out the hull voltage voodoo. My hull is hotter (.740) than my wires(.630) is this backwards? I ordered a russle VIP box to pull my lines down to .550-.600 ish but with my hull hotter am I missing something?

Taylor
Fishnpohl
Crawfish
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Re: Hull vs. line voltage

Post by Crawfish »

I am by no means a pro on this but here is my data point. I want my natural hull potential higher by approximately 2 to 4 tenths than my natural line voltage. It's what seems to fish on my boat best. We have had some of our best days when messing around with the black box and forgetting to turn it on . You can fine tune your wire voltage by adjusting your lead break away length. If your boat is bonded and your gurdies are isolated your already ahead of the game unless of course you are wired for positive ground. It seems to me hull potential changes as your zinc's eat so you are always aiming at a moving target for differential. A lot of guys put a heavy amount of weight on voltage. Some of the top producers on the west coast I have personally known have bolted the gurdies down directly to the wood deck have absolutely no bonding and catch like there is no tomorrow. Then there are some that worry about ion trailings and do very well too.

Either way follow sound wiring principles and you will be good to go.
Fishnpohl

Post by Fishnpohl »

Thanks!! I'm isolated at the gurdys, new bonding, plates on hull with zinks. It will drive you loony taking with guys no one has the same ideas. Thanks for the reassurance.

Taylor
curmudgeon
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Post by curmudgeon »