Hand Trollers: What to look for?

A forum for people who are new to commercial fishing and for talking about the fundamental rules and regulations.
Akjob
Spammer?: No

Hand Trollers: What to look for?

Post by Akjob »

Hello all,

I've been lurking for a while on this site, it's a great resource so thanks for sharing all your knowledge.

I am thinking about buying a hand troller and permit. In a previous life I seined, longlined and crabbed and crewed briefly on a power troller (years ago)in SE. I'm looking to get back into fishing, and hand trolling seems like a good way to do it. My plan is to fish the Icy Straight and Chatham areas mostly on long weekends and my time off. I've read the catch stats for those areas from the ADFG site, and I realize that those areas have pretty low catch rates averaging about 30 fish/day for the power trollers this year. However, my day job is in Juneau, so fishing will be part time for me.

I've seen a few boats come up for sale on craigslist, but I wanted to ask what you guys think I should be looking for. It seems like every boat is a tradeoff between speed, fuel efficiency, comfort, trailerability, etc. So far I've been looking at a few 24-26' boats in Sitka and Petersburg. So, I'd like to ask first what I should be looking for in a hand troll operation.

-How much packing capacity should I need for shorter 2-3 day trips to Icy Straight and Chatham?
-How important is it to have poles on a hand troller vs. just gurdies?
-Can I get by without an autopilot if I use a steering station at the stern?
-Outboard vs. IO?
-Do Olympics make decent hand trollers?
-Are the packers pretty good about taking small deliveries from the hand crank fleet?

Most that I've seen have been Bayliners, Glasplys, Ospreys and Olympics with either outboard or I/O power. Here is a link to one of the boats I'm looking at:

http://anchorage.craigslist.org/boa/1350249653.html